Community News

Provincial Government to Invest in Blackville Area Roads

BLACKVILLE (GNB) – The provincial government will invest almost $6 million in paving and chip seal projects in the Blackville area this year, part of a $30-million investment in the Greater Miramichi region.

“Maintaining and improving our transportation infrastructure keeps our economy moving forward,” said Transportation and Infrastructure Minister Bill Fraser. “Your government recognizes that strategic investments in roads and bridges are an important component of economic development and job creation.”

The Department of Transportation and Infrastructure will pave a 7.7-kilometre section of Route 8, from the scale site to the beginning of the concrete highway. Paving will also take place on Route 108, from the end point of last year’s work towards Parker Road, and from the Halfway Inn to Fowler Mountain. Pulverizing and double sealing will occur on a 6.4-kilometre section of Route 108 near Renous.

Chip seal will be applied to sections of Route 420, Brophy Road, South Renous Road and Williamstown Road.

Under the Municipal Designated Highway Program, the department will fund the levelling and resealing of 1.7 kilometres of Lockstead Road and 2.6 kilometres of South Cains River Road.

The Municipal Designated Highway Program allows municipalities to apply for funding assistance for capital upgrade projects. Funding for the program has more than doubled since the 2014-15 fiscal year, increasing to $25 million in 2015. It has remained at that level as part of a government commitment to sustain funding for municipalities.

The department’s $688.2-million capital budget reflects the government’s priority of investing strategically in its buildings, highways and bridges. Strategic investments in infrastructure are a key component of the multi-year New Brunswick Economic Growth Plan, the government’s framework for growing the economy and creating jobs.

Miramichi River Valley

Miramichi River Valley

The Rural Community of Miramichi River Valley is governed by an elected council made up of a mayor and six councillors.

Leave a Comment